The Twelve Days of Christmas – Day Nine

On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, nine ladies dancing…
Our nine beautiful ladies represent the Fruit of the Spirit, described in the Book of Galatians:
But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law (Galatians 5:22-23 NKJV).
The nine fruit of the Spirit are:
  • Love
  • Joy
  • Peace
  • Longsuffering (patience)
  • Kindness
  • Goodness
  • Faithfulness (trust in God)
  • Gentleness
  • Self-control
The activity of the Fruit of the Spirit in the Church – the ladies dancing – can be seen in the nine Beatitudes in Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount in Matthew 5:1-12:
  • Blessed are the poor in spirit (Agape/ self-sacrificing love)
  • Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted (Joy; i.e., the oil of joy for mourning, Isaiah 61:3)
  • Blessed are the meek (Peace)
  • Blessed are they which hunger and thirst after righteousness (Longsuffering/patience)
  • Blessed are the merciful (Gentleness)
  • Blessed are the pure in heart (Goodness)
  • Blessed are the peacemakers (Faith/trust in God)
  • Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake (Meekness)
  • Blessed are the falsely accused (Temperance/self-control)
When we ask the Holy Spirit to teach us to walk in the Fruit of the Spirit, we begin to walk as Jesus walked, and we experience God’s blessings in the Beatitudes:
  • Love -What it means to enter in to the kingdom of heaven.
  • Joy - The strength and comfort of the continual presence of the Holy Spirit.
  • Peace - How to reign in life over arrogance, pride and struggle.
  • Patience - What it means to be fully satisfied in every aspect of our lives.
  • Gentleness - What it means to receive God’s mercy, which makes us gentle and merciful.
  • Goodness - The relief of goodness and a decreasing desire for sin.
  • Faith - The peace that passes all understanding, that can only come through trust in God.
  • Meekness - God’s sufficient grace for every trial.
  • Self-control - Peace and joy, even in the presence of misunderstanding and persecution. 
    Now when Jesus saw the crowds, he went up on a mountainside and sat down. His disciples came to him, and he began to teach them.
    The Beatitudes
    He said:
    “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
    Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.
    Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.
    Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.
    Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.
     Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.
     Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.
     Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven..." (Matthew 5:1-11 NIV).
Posted in Uncategorized.