The Twelve Days of Christmas – Day Seven

On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, seven swans a swimming…
The seven swans represent the seven I AM statements of Jesus found in the gospel of John:
And Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst (John 6:35 NKJV). [Note that Jesus was born in the city of Bethlehem, which in Hebrew means, the house of bread.]
Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life” (John 8:12 NKJV).
I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture (John 10:9 NKJV).
“I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd gives His life for the sheep” (John 10:11 NKJV).
Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live. And whoever lives and believes in Me shall never die. Do you believe this?” (John 11:25-26 NKJV).
Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me” (John 14:6 NKJV).
“I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing” (John 15:5 NKJV).
Jesus is:
  • The Bread of Life
  • The Light of the World
  • The Door to green pastures
  • The Good Shepherd
  • The Resurrection and the Life
  • The Way, the Truth and the Life
  • The True Vine
The water upon which the swans swim represents the seven attributes of the Holy Spirit:
There shall come forth a Rod from the stem of Jesse,
And a Branch shall grow out of his roots.
 The Spirit of the Lord shall rest upon Him,
The Spirit of wisdom and understanding,
The Spirit of counsel and might,
The Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the Lord (Isaiah 11:1-2 NKJV).
The Holy Spirit is:
  • The Spirit of the Lord
  • The Spirit of Wisdom
  • The Spirit of Understanding
  • The Spirit of Counsel
  • The Spirit of Might
  • The Spirit of Knowledge
  • The Spirit of the fear of the Lord
The seven swans a’swimming can also represent the seven churches in the Book of Revelation chapters 2-3, which existed in what is now Turkey during the first century AD; and can also be seen as spanning the two-thousand year church age, from Christ’s  triumphal entry into Jerusalem, up to the present day:
The seven churches are:
  • Ephesus
  • Smyrna   
  • Pergamos
  • Thyatira  
  • Sardis  
  • Philadelphia
  • Laodicea  
The Church is the Body of Christ, and his Bride, and we are to act as his ambassadors on earth:
Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, so that he might present the church to himself in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish (Ephesians 5:25-27 ESV).
 So we are Christ’s ambassadors; God is making his appeal through us. We speak for Christ when we plead, “Come back to God!” For God made Christ, who never sinned, to be the offering for our sin, so that we could be made right with God through Christ (2 Corinthians 5:20-21 NLT).
Posted in Uncategorized.